circut breakers

Discuss fixes, upgrades and modifications to your M37

Moderators: Cal_Gary, T. Highway, Monkey Man, robi

jim0311
PVT
PVT

circut breakers

Post by jim0311 »

I have an M37B1 There are no circut breakers. Was there a mod that took them out? I have lights and a horn do I need two breakers or will one suffice?
Jim
Carter
1SG
1SG

Re: circut breakers

Post by Carter »

Your truck should have three or four if the wiring is orig, have you looked in the usual location for the circuit breakers, behind the instrument cluster on the dash bracing?

Click on thumbnail
Image Image Image
Carter
Life Member:
Delta, Peach Bottom Fish & Game Assn.
ZGjethro
SFC
SFC

Post by ZGjethro »

I have a 52 M37. The truck is 60 years old now and the electrical system works fine. I have to wonder though, how reliable are those old breakers. I work as an electrician, and pretty much every 60 year old panel I work in is a nightmare, and the old breakers are notorious for not tripping. Are these old truck breakers similar? It would be pretty easy to wire in a fuseblock with replaceable fuses.
Carter
1SG
1SG

Post by Carter »

ZGjethro wrote:I have a 52 M37. The truck is 60 years old now and the electrical system works fine. I have to wonder though, how reliable are those old breakers. I work as an electrician, and pretty much every 60 year old panel I work in is a nightmare, and the old breakers are notorious for not tripping. Are these old truck breakers similar? It would be pretty easy to wire in a fuseblock with replaceable fuses.
When one of mine failed it resulted in a fire by igniting spilled gasoline: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4771 not sure how to test them since things do fail and having known working ones would ease the electrical system fire worry somewhat.
Carter
Life Member:
Delta, Peach Bottom Fish & Game Assn.
jim0311
PVT
PVT

Post by jim0311 »