Vietnam and Desert Storm pics and stories

Discuss all non M37 related issues here

Moderators: Cal_Gary, T. Highway, Monkey Man, robi

NAM VET
1SG
1SG

Vietnam and Desert Storm pics and stories

Post by NAM VET »

since there seems to be some interest in my pictures and stories of my two wars, with the moderator's permission I will begin to put them in this sub-forum. I graduated from Nebraska in '65 as a 2nd Lt via ROTC, with a commission in the regular army, infantry. Two days later, I reported into Ft. Benning to begin infantry officer basic, followed by airborne and then ranger school, graduating from these, and was posted to Schweinfurt, Germany in late Dec, '69. By early '71, I was headed to Vietnam via Benning and the advisor/Vietnamese language course, to IV Corps, which was the Mekong Delta. After in processing in Saigon, hopped a ride via C7A Caribou to my first six months in Kien Phong Province, in the middle of the Delta, which was part of the Plain of Reeds, which extended into Cambodia. I was a MAT (Mobil Advisory Team) chief, which meant I and one SGT would chopper out to some Vietnamese outpost where we would try to teach mostly how to call in air support. We were out usually a week at a time, then back to our Province HQ, which had about 40 US troops. After six months of this, the usual thing, by then a CPT, was for field officers to come into some HQ and be a Staff Weenie, with an air conditioned billet, and office hours. But I was beginning to think about a post army career, and decided I could save a lot of money by staying out in the field, so was then sent way south, to be a District Senior Advisor, normally a Major's post. This was to south of Camau, along side the U Minh forest, a bad place. I spent the next six months there with one and some times two SGT's. I would go out with the Vietnamese, and stay in radio contact with my home for whatever help I might need. After that six months, I returned stateside back to Bragg, where I took over a